The kind of me I want to be…

Every time I sit down to blog it feels like the same main ideas course through my brain. Maybe I’m really just not that original or that creative with the thoughts I do have… but that’s ok.

I don’t want to be one of those people who gauges a day or a piece of work off of the “likes” on Facebook or the compliments in person.

I don’t want to be paranoid about the opinions of the people who “follow” me thinking I post too many pictures, tweet too little, or can’t really form a coherent thought on a blog…

IMG_2374

Here are some things I would like to be:

Kind – to everyone, especially the people who don’t really deserve it in that moment.

Gracious – with my time, energy, and money. I want to respond with those things willingly, without having to be yanked into it.

Willing – to take risks in order to do what I’m called to.

Forgiving – because life is hard, and sometimes people get mean.

Tactful – with my words and my body language… because life is hard and sometimes I get mean.

Active – in whatever I love (including singing, photography, painting, writing music, playing piano, and more recently exercising.)

Thankful – because sometimes I’m the person who in the moment doesn’t deserve an ounce of kindness, and yetย a man died and rose again for me to takeย that away and pave a way for goodness and truth.

Intentional – in the world of the internet I want to show Christ, and show the real me by just being, and doing, and sharing what is laid on my heart.

Maybe you’re not like me, and you don’t get swept up in waves of what is expected of you and what other people may be looking for from you… But if you are, and you need a respite – take a few seconds and make a list of the things youย want to be seen for and remembered by… and trust that there is always a second (or 107th…) chance to stop hearing the voices of everyone around you and focus on the one that matters.

“Return to the Lord your God, for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love; and he relents over disaster.” Joel 2:13

 

Leave a Reply

